Let it snow

February 2014 brought a first for me– deep snow. I have managed to avoid dramatic weather despite venturing above the Mason-Dixon Line now and again. But this winter in Virginia brought 18 inches in one day. DSC02654

I took special pleasure in measuring it with a yard stick my Californian husband brought to the marriage. (The image is after a bit of melt. I promise, it was 18 inches!) My grandmother’s pool chairs never saw such weather before! DSC02647 deep snowOf course, I drew on some southern experience and was at the ready with some maraschino snow creme. It was mighty fine. The children especially liked the fact they had it at 9:30 in the morning.DSC02664 snow creme copy

But, happily, you could still see the signs of spring coming!Dogwood buds

Leave a Reply

